The Turkey Gypsy aka Nancy Jo Adams, with her first double bearded tom harvested in Pike County, Alabama.

The Turkey Gypsy aka Nancy Jo Adams, with her first double bearded tom harvested in Pike County, Alabama.

In NINE sleeps I will be stepping out into the turkey woods for opening day of the 2015 Alabama Spring Turkey Season; it is always with much anxiety that I count down the days, never knowing what the season will bring. I will spend Sunday in our gear room preparing my turkey vest for the new season. I have already broken-in my Danner Pronghorn snake boots from being stored all year by wearing them this past weekend doing some scouting. I have a thump of gear I will be taking with me to the woods this season for product reviews. Starting this weekend with the T.O.M. Targets and then I will be carrying several brands of calls into the woods with me; YAK Game Calls, B&C Custom Turkey Calls, Flatline Custom Turkey Calls to name a few. I will be taking some great decoys in the field with me from Avian-X and Dakota Decoy and even the new rage, the Turkey Fan.

I have already started dreaming of the “El Jefe”…I can’t wait to dance with him. I have studied up on decoy use and published an article; Using Turkey Decoys for Success. I have even visited with two of my favorite turkey hunters, Eddie Salter and Preston Pittman and brushed up on my tips and tactics–the article should run next week and I will post it here as well.

Let the TURKEY GYPSY CHRONICLES begin…….

