With turkey season fast approaching, I have NOTHING but turkey hunting on my mind. I am going this Saturday afternoon to scout new property, Woodham Farm. I will not share the location of this farm because it is private property but I will tell you that it is in my home state of Alabama, in Henry County. I have been told that there are several really nice trophy toms wandering those cow pastures and one that I have coined “EL JEFE” (pronounced L-Hef-A) which translates from Spanish to English as THE BOSS . We are setting out game cameras this weekend and I hope to share the photos of El Jefe with you real soon. I feel fortunate and I am extremely grateful to have this opportunity to hunt this private farm. I have always believed that all things happen and occur for a reason and this opportunity is one of those situations that truly bring this thought to full circle. As I did last year in my pursuit of the GRAND POOPAH, I will be sharing more of this years hunting the EL JEFE right here on my blog, so stay tuned for another great turkey season; the highs, the lows, the tactics, the tips and the gear–it will all be shared right here at Shenanigans From the Field. Don’t forget to subscribe on my home page and you will get notified of every new post.

Mikes Feb  Page 001

Third Bird and I made it on the cover of Mike’s Outdoors Turkey Season Sale flyer. Photo Credit: Life in Camo

 

 

I published two turkey hunting related articles this week in preparation of the season: Using Turkey Decoys for Success and With Turkey Season Fast Approaching, What’s in Your Vest?. And, also published this week was the photo of “Third Bird” from last season on the cover of Mike’s Outdoors Spring turkey season sale flyer. I hope you enjoy! Good luck to you this season….I hope you dance.

