Michele Branning was the first person to sign up for this hunt and was someone I felt I had a connection with before the hog hunt–however, that connection was that she lives in my childhood hometown, Panama City, Florida. Matter of fact, just around the corner from where I grew up. I was introduced to Michele through Facebook when a childhood friend, Sharon Pearman Moses from Panama City linked us together. I had spoken with Michele often through Facebook correspondence, but I had never met her in person.

This was Michele’s first hunt out-of-state and her first experience of hunting at night–I assured her that she was in for a treat. Spending time with Michele was like spending time with an old friend; we were familiar with the same area we called home and even many of the same friends. I kind of laughed when I thought “I finally found someone who is very similar to me.” By this I mean–the last to go to bed and usually the first one up. Michele was actually up for a straight 36 hours on this hunt. Her excitement kept her up, let see what she experienced in the blind.

Michele Branning from Panama City, Florida...my childhood hometown.

What to write about?

It was my first time hunting hogs at night, hunting out of my state, and my first guided hunt.

I thought about how nervous I was when I first got to the lodge, but that only lasted for a few minutes.

I reminisced about my first thoughts when I walked up to the ground blind and saw there was no door or floor and here it was getting dark.

I looked for snakes inside the blind (thanks to Richard for that tip) and I was thinking what if one decides to come in while I am sitting here.

Hmmm, what have I got myself into? Thankfully that did not happen and I only worried for a couple of minutes about it.

I decided to write about a few of my experiences while sitting in the stand.

On Saturday morning, we were on our way to the stand before daylight. When I reached my stand, I unpacked everything, relaxed and listened for the hogs. I had not heard anything by the time it finally was getting where I could see the area around me just a bit. Sitting there enjoying the most peaceful time of day for me, I watched the shadows closely. I thought I saw one of the shadows move, but I was not sure.

I waited just a second and took another look–Oh yeah! That is a hog! Here we go. I shouldered my gun and turned on the scope. I still could not see clear enough for a shot so I turned on the flashlight. The hog turned at the same time, not good–it is now walking straight toward me. Thinking to myself, this is not good. But then I thought to myself, how many deer have you shot successfully this way? I was confident that I could drop it right there. But I did not want to mess this up and miss it. I told myself just to wait and it will turn. The hog took a few more steps toward me and started to turn. Okay, here we go and I was ready.

Oh no!! The hog turned!! It turned right into the tall grass. I could only see the very top of its back. So here I was, waiting again, hoping that it would turn and come out of that grass. It seemed like forever but it finally turned, as soon as it stepped out where I thought I had a perfect shot–I took the shot. It did a 360 degree turn and went back the other way. I thought to myself, okay this is not good. I had a bad feeling that I did not hit it, but then a piglet came running in and ran back and forth several times.

I ended up sending a text to my guide, Richard, and told him I was not sure if I had made contact with my shot but I wanted to look for blood. He told me he was on his way. Thankfully he helped me as we looked and looked, but no sign that I made a hit. I sure did hate that I missed the first hog that I have ever shot at, but I was so thankful that I did not wound it.

Saturday night, I went back out to the same stand. Right before dark I saw movement outside the doorway of the stand just inside of the treeline. I picked up my rifle hoping that it was a hog. It turned out to be a young deer and it was about 20 feet from the stand. There was a large doe behind it and I was busted. They stomped and blew at me for about 20 minutes. They never came out of the woods and finally they took off.

When I was too tired to sit any longer, I sent a text out that I was ready to be picked up. That was at 9:07 pm, I got a text back 10 minutes later that Richard was on his way. This is the about the time I heard coyotes; a very large pack of them too. Of course I had heard them in the past while walking out of my stands but not this close; they were within a 50yd radius of me; remember no door on my blind.

I thought to myself, I do not like this at all and I did the only thing I could think of; I pointed the rifle toward the door with the light on. Yes, I was scared. Then I was wondering if I was getting picked up by truck because I would have to walk out to the vehicle. There is NO WAY that I am walking out by myself like I did on Friday night. Why am I not seeing headlights yet? Why did I not bring my pistol on this trip? Yes, all of this was running through my head at the same time.

At 9:38 pm I sent a text asking my guide if he was driving in and thankfully a text was sent right back stating he was on the HuntVe on the way in now. Okay, this is good news; he will be driving in. By the time I saw headlights coming toward my stand, I was so happy and ready to get out of that shooting house and out of those woods.

I really enjoyed myself on this hunt and I am looking forward to doing it again. I met some wonderful people, made new friendships, and learned some new things.

