Michelle Harmes sent me an email requesting information about the ladies hog hunt at Rack Nine Outdoors after it posted on Women’s Outdoor News. I don’t think I had the chance to reply before I got a second email that read “Sign me up. Where do I need to mail my deposit?”

Michelle was probably the most quiet in the entire bunch, yet the most observant. You could tell she was a little nervous, yet excited and pumped-up about being at the hunt, without her saying a word. Michelle had one of the most exciting hunts–shy of Jennifer’s triple–where she had a close encounter with a boar hog while hunting out of a GROUND blind. YEP…eye to eye with the beast with nothing but a sheet of material between them–sends chills down my spine.

Michelle Harmes loaded down with gear.

Here is Michelle’s incredible story:

It was a short drive from my house to Rack Nine Outdoors, down past Lake Eufaula and then through farming country with rolling hills. It was very beautiful. When I got to the entrance, I turned in to the dirt drive I was struck by the sight of a house on a grass island in the middle of a sea of corn.

The inside of the lodge was beautiful, there were very impressive deer mounted on the walls and sheds by the fireplace. The living room had windows on three walls so you could look out to the corn fields and down to the forest. Even though I had never met the guides before, it felt like I was in the home of a friend. Slowly the other ladies arrived and we all introduced ourselves. Everyone was excited about going hunting that night. When Nancy Jo arrived she had goody bags filled with t-shirts, hats and koozies from some companies that cater to women hunters.

There were some thunderstorms brewing out in the distance but they were supposed to go around us. We all went outside to watch the lightning and the wind started whipping the corn into waves. It started to sprinkle and then pour down rain as we went inside for dinner. It was amazing pork chops, potatoes with green beans and corn. A great hot meal to prepare us for the night out in stands.

When the storm had past the ladies all switched from casual to camo with our guns ready and game faces on. We loaded up into separate trucks and drove off to the drop off points. My stand was up first, a little wooden ground blind set between the corn field and the woods. A perfect location since the field was being dug up by the hogs. On my walk out I saw three little piglets that just stared at me as I walked up. They were big enough to look like mini hogs but no bigger than 20 pounds. I knelt and pulled my magazine out and snapped it into the AK-47. They just kept watching me. I was hoping Mama Pig was going to be right in the corn field behind them. I charged the gun but the click made them turn and walk into the tall stalks. Methinks they have heard that noise before. I tried to find them but they were always a step ahead of me so I continued on to my blind.

It was enough for two people with two chairs inside, one for me and one for my gear. I set up my tripod with my spotlight on top and waited for night fall. I heard three gunshots and that made me happy and hopeful that there was lots of pigs to be had. Later I learned that my roommate Jennifer decimated three pigs before she even got to her stand! She has never hunted hogs before this trip, I was so happy for her, what a rush that must have been!

I didn’t see any more pigs that night and sent out the call to be picked up about fifteen minutes past 1 am. Greg, one of the guides came and he had Chris and Nancy Jo in the truck picking them up from their stands. We took the back road around the corn field and it was a great ride in the fresh mud, gotta love off roading!

We were all tired back at the lodge and chatted a bit and then went to bed so we could be up and out again before sunrise. We left the lodge again at 4am and that morning I heard pigs chomping in the woods but didn’t see anything. I was visited by a toad, a hawk and many crows. When the sun started getting hot I called to get picked up and Terry, the main guide, came on the atv and we rode back to the lodge. I haven’t been on an ATV in forever!

I got back and was just in time to have some 14 layer birthday cake for Amber’s birthday. That’s right, I said 14 layers. I crashed into bed for a much-needed nap and woke up for lunch of delicious burgers and chips. We all decided we wanted to get out early so we could set up long before sunset. We visited and then ate an early dinner.

I was switched to a different ground blind after not seeing anything in the last blind. When the truck dropped me off I could just see a glimpse of the stand. It was sitting in a dried up swamp, the grass was so thick and green it looked like the swamp was full of green water. My blind was next to a big tree and about 20 yards from a very popular wallow.

The drained pond bed that Michelle hunted in on Saturday

The popular hog wallow

I settled in, excited that there was so much sign. After half an hour a doe walked in at the far side of the swamp, she was a very large red doe but so far away I could only tell she was looking my way when I could see the white of her ears. Two more does joined her and they wandered around eating.

At almost exactly 8pm one of the shadows in the woods came to life. He had made no noise walking out of the forest, out of the corner of my eye I saw movement and looked just in time to see him shove an offending branch out of his way. His massive head was held high in the air, he knew he was king of the forest. He started a slow jog in front of me, almost prancing in the soft ground. His very round body floated over his stubby legs as he got further out into the open .

The blind I was in had mesh over the windows that I was watching him from, I had to wait until he got to an open window. I reached for the gun in my lap, ready and nearly drooling that this moment was more perfect than I could have imagined. He was going to prance in front of me to the wallow and I was going to have a huge hog!

My heart sank and time crawled in slow motion as just before the open window the boar turned 90 degrees and jogged straight at me in my flimsy fabric ground blind. My chair is so low that he disappeared behind the fabric wall when he came within 10 feet of me. I must have sat up when I couldn’t see him anymore because he stopped in his tracks, dropped his head and jumped to the side, snorting.

The only thing between the big boar hog and Michelle was the material that this blind was made of.

He was going to charge! Is what my brain told me. But I just startled the beast. He ran back towards the woods but he was still looking my way. He was perfectly quartered away from me but hidden behind a stretch of fabric next to the window. I leaned forward trembling and I aimed for his head.

BANG!

I knew I missed, I knew I should have aimed for the body. I knew I failed as he turned and ran. Had I not been in a ground blind I would have shot every bullet I had as he ran away. I couldn’t stop shaking as panic and paranoia set in. Eventually I calmed down but didn’t see anything else that night, except the baby alligator that lived in the wallow. He wasn’t more than a foot long. It was a great learning experience and something I will never forget. I am pretty disappointed that I failed so hard but I guess that this is why they call hunting the relentless pursuit.

Another day Prancer, another day.


It was a slow morning waking up, every one planned on leaving at 3:30am but not a creature stirred till 4am. I was back out at my swamp blind just as dusk was breaking. I stayed out later in the morning thinking that the heat would make them come out to the wallow but the only thing that I saw was an increasing number of bees and wasps inspecting my blind so I called to be picked up. Terry came by with Chris on the ATV and I hopped on the back and all three of us rode up to the lodge. It was a bumpy ride and a little scary because I thought my back would act up but once I relaxed it never did.

Everyone was getting ready to go and we had a quick lunch of pork chops and bread. Then we took some group pictures and said our good byes. It was an amazing trip and I had so much fun and made some great friends that I can’t wait to hunt with this fall! I cannot wait to go again next year and get that Prancer!

