We left Montgomery, Alabama shortly after 4:00 p.m. today headed to Delta, Alabama to hunt with Mountain View Plantation. Clyde was neatly packed with room to spare; you could actually see through the back and side windows. This, in its self, is amazing on one of my trips. I am a true believer that I would rather have one of everything than to not have that one thing I really needed.

We arrived just as the sun was setting and were greeted by Richard Sprayberry and Stephanie Hendrix as they were coming from the kennels. Both Richard’s took off to the stand to hang a cameraman stand and I stayed behind and talked with Stephanie as she grilled steaks; handling the grill like a pro.

Tonight’s dinner was my first-ever free-range steak and it was absolutely fabulous. We had beef steak, loaded baked potatoes, fresh garden salad with all the special fixings, yeast rolls, a wonderful apple dessert with vanilla ice cream and sweet ice tea….pure mouth watering, tummy pleasing, stick to your ribs kind of meal that satisfies you clean to the core. Mmmmm…Mmmmm!!

We sat around the lodge visiting a little before finalizing the plans of our morning hunt. I am anxious to see the morning spring to life in these hills. From the back veranda at the lodge you can see Cheaha Mountains in the distance—just absolutely breath taking.

I took some pictures of some of Mountain View Plantations deer harvests from over the years. All of the deer were harvested on property owned/managed by Mountain View Plantation. Sorry, some photos came out a little blurry because my camera is having an issue with the lens sensor…got to get that checked out. I also wanted to share with you the beauty of the lodge.

Shortly after Richard and Stephanie left, Richard and I played a quick game of pool and I took some photos. I prepared my gear for the morning hunt and I set Crackie to wake us up. We will be up at 4:00 a.m. and headed to the stand around 5-5:15 a.m.

Not taking into consideration the moon phase when I scheduled this hunt, it ended up that I choose the weekend of the full moon…but that is not going to damper my hunting any differently, I will just need to sit a little longer into the day. No matter what transpires, tomorrow will be a wonderful day…it already promises great fellowship and good food; besides, I get to waste a few rounds shooting 5 stand tomorrow; 5 stand will be another first for me and I am really looking forward to it.

The lodge is so comfortable, if it were not 50-60 degrees out I would have started a fire in the fireplace and read a book in front of it until I fell asleep; Just so beautiful!

Dreaming turkeys during early bowseason!

