Three more days…tic-toc, tic-toc, tic-toc…..

I have walked into our gear room so many times since Sunday that I can literally see where the carpet is flat after the last vacuuming. I have changed my backpack three times, waxed my bow strings twice and for the fourth time I have refolded my clothes I plan on wearing Saturday morning. As I sit here this evening pondering on what it is that makes me so anxious, I can definitely say a large part of the excitement for the season is the “not knowing what it will bring. What achievements will be made? What goals will be reached or which ones will go unfulfilled?”

At this point last year, I was 27 pounds lighter and fit for the field. Right after turkey season I started putting the weight back on that I had previously lost. With the downfall of the real estate market, I had a stressful summer at my full time job as a paralegal in a real property law firm which resulted in constant browsing for satiety. So I have to be honest and say that I am starting this season off with disheartening thoughts about my weight and physical fitness. However, I have no problems when it comes to safely using a climber, putting on my snake boots, sitting for long periods of time or any other physical issues. But I do have issues with the way I look and feel; every woman wants to look good in their harvest pictures; don’t they? Of course, I won’t let that stop me from trudging forth and hunting hard.

It is time to get serious!! I have, on more than one occasion, been told that I had characteristics of an “over-achiever”…whatever that may mean and if it were a compliment or not…who knows? But somewhere in my mind I am preparing a goal to lose this extra weight and, once again, get physically fit; I am determined to succeed. I have taken the Eating Clean books by Tosca Reno off the shelf, I have read everything I can about whole foods and I started taking my vitamins. I have made grocery lists, and even done a little shopping to get us started.

Next week we move our office to a new location. The great thing about this new location is that it is in a cul-de-sac and it has a sidewalk all the way around the driveway. I am going to hit the ground walking and try to get some exercise at lunch every day. This will be the perfect time for me to put my thoughts for writing on the Olympus mini digital tape recorder. Wow, sounds like a Win-Win situation to me!

Not only do Richard and I have a slam packed deer hunting season and an exciting turkey hunting season planned, but we are working on a big project for 2011 and we will both need to bring our “A” efforts and game face to the project. It is going to take a lot of dedication, hard work and perseverance to pull it off; we need to be ready to trudge down that road. This project will allow us to share many great hunts with other women and co-ed teams, valuable information and our hopes of being an inspiration to get more women and couples into the field. So, I am digging deep and pulling out the arsenal to get in shape and lose some excess weight–I want to look on the outside how I feel on the inside.

I am pretty sure that I am not the only hunter with pre-season anticipation. I hope you are heading into a season in your best shape ever and I want to wish each and every hunter an awesome season, be safe, hunt hard, harvest ethically and may your drag be short.

