Yesterday I was visiting on the phone with a hunting friend, Matt Woodbury from Team D.I.R.T. Something he said brought back a memory that I want to share with my blog followers.

Matt was telling me about his return home from a successful turkey hunt last season. He told me how his wife was disappointed that the turkey was already in the freezer when she got home to meet him. However, not the same exact scenario that I experienced, but it brought the memory flooding back nonetheless.

Four short years ago, when I was “the hunter’s wife”, I remember Richard coming home one afternoon with a Snipe that he had shot. He brought it home excited to show me how odd the bird was with its 3 plus inch beak and speckled feathers. Of course I just looked at it and thought “what an odd bird.”

Richard asked me to get a Zip lock bag from the cabinet as he was pulling a paper towel from the roll on the countertop dispenser. As usual I was telling him “Don’t touch anything, I will get it.” I did not want expired bird germs on anything in my kitchen.

I watched as Richard carefully rolled the paper towel around the Snipe. Then he placed the bird wrapped in the towel into the Zip lock bag. He walked into the laundry room and asked me to open the deep freeze.

It was at that moment that I realized he was about to put THAT dead bird in our freezer. You have got to be kidding me? The prior season, I pitched the biggest fit when he put a very well wrapped and sealed tarsal gland from a buck in the freezer which, by the way, promptly got thrown out. NO WAY was I going to let him put this whole, dead, Snipe bird in our freezer. What was he thinking?

He explained to me that he wanted to save the bird to have it mounted with a bobcat or with some other critter. The whole time I was standing there, arms folded across my chest, shaking my head NO!

“You are NOT putting THAT dead bird in MY freezer. (Notice how a freezer that was once OURS all of the sudden turned into MINE?)

He said, “there is nothing but dead animal in there now….deer, turkey, fish….”

“Nope, it is not the same”, I said. “That meat doesn’t have feathers, legs, little feet or a beak.”

“It is wrapped up and sealed.” Richard pleaded.

“This isn’t going to happen. No way!” I said adamantly. If you put that bird in that freezer, I am not eating a single thing out of that freezer. No, I am not!!

Richard grabbed a plastic WalMart bag and wrapped the bird one more time.

“Look! I will put it in the door, nowhere near the other stuff in the freezer.” He said, trying to sound pleasing.

I shook my head and said “No!”.

He said, “Open the door and let me look.”

I opened the door.

He found an empty shelf in the door at the very bottom that did not have anything on it.

After much persuasion, the Snipe lived on that bottom shelf until Richard killed a bobcat the next season and both the bobcat and the Snipe went to the taxidermist.

WOW!! How things change!!

Shortly after that bobcat got mounted, I started hunting with Richard. The first year all of our harvest went to the processor just up the road and my first turkey was not mounted–no need for storing anything in the freezer.

The second year, I had no problem with placing my turkey tail and legs into that freezer on its very own shelf for a future trip to the taxidermist. Matter of fact, I was kind of proud placing the mountable parts and the edible parts in the freezer…I was bringing home the bacon, so to speak.

I laughed as I told Matt that as adamant as I was about that little Snipe NOT going into MY freezer, how ironic it is that when I open the door now, I find 9 turkey tails, 9 sets of turkey legs complete with spurs, three full feathered turkey wings, two ducks, a red fox squirrel, a silver and black fox squirrel, a rooster quail, a set of pheasant legs with double spurs, a bag of pheasant feathers, a barracuda head and I am sure that there is a bagged rattlesnake somewhere in there.

Yes, isn’t it ironic how things change!!

