Saturday’s hunts were pretty uneventful but the good thing is that the day had turned warmer and the snow was starting to melt in great quantity. The 70 degree weather was starting to change the scenery of the mountains and valleys like paint strokes on a blank canvas. Fields that were previously a blanket of white were starting to transform into pastures. Snow covered mountains with snow laden trees were starting to turn green and gray. The trees were dripping water like a slow steady rain from the melting snow. Around mid-day when it was evident that we were not going to get on birds but knowing where they were roosting, I started brainstorming.

We were scheduled to fly out at 9:30 a.m. in the morning so we were going to have to leave around 6:00 a.m. to get to the airport that was 2 hours away. I came up with the idea of seeing if a later flight was available that would allow us the opportunity to hunt in the morning. Even if I had to pay an additional fee to change our tickets, at this point it was worth it to me. The proper thing for Delta to do would be to make the change without charge, it was the airline that misplaced our luggage in the first place and caused us to miss two hunts. After talking with the Delta representative and then a supervisor with Delta.com we were scheduled to fly out at 1:25 p.m. I was so excited and for once on this trip Murphy must have been sleeping in my pocket because things went our way!! I had prepared everything I could for our flight the following day to save time in case we came in from the field on a fast horse. I had a good feeling about our hunt Sunday morning. It was going to be a stressful day trying to make our departure on time.

