Those of you that have followed my blog know that this blog was borne out of the Quest for a Turkey Grand Slam. Richard and I set out to achieve our Grand Slams together last year with a goal in mind; we wanted to achieve our slams together and within one year. We did well until we got to Montana where we were having a tough time finding birds. So we made plans to return to Montana to harvest our Merriam to complete our slams this year.

Well, those of you who know me well know I am goal oriented and don’t take well to “personal” defeat. Usually when I set out to achieve a personal goal I am like a mule with blinders and dedicated to that goal. Those that don’t know me well can probably gather those facts from this blog…be it a plaque or a prized characteristic, who is to be the judge of that. 🙂

Unbeknown to Richard, I decided that we came too close to completing that goal not put efforts into it again and try to excel. With that in mind, I set out to book the hunts necessary to achieve our four species. One of the hunts, Oklahoma, has a combined agenda…we are having a ladies hunt with 5 other women. Since Richard is going to be filming me, he will also attempt his Rio harvest while on this hunt. Ideally it would be nice to get a double on film if the turkey Gods are so willing.

So with the plans mapped out, the airline tickets booked, hotel rooms reserved, hunting gear in tact and shotguns patterned …we are going to attempt our second try at achieving our Turkey Grand Slams together in one season. An added perk is that we will actually be hunting two Merriams each this season and could possibly end up with our Double Grand Slams.

I hope you will follow along as I blog our journey…the good, the bad, the ugly and the pure comical. Good luck to all of those turkey hunting this season.

