SNOW!! In South Alabama, February 12, 2010.

I was off work for a SNOW DAY today. A SNOW DAY?? In South Alabama. Can you believe that? True Southerners REALLY do not know how to drive in snow; even 4 inches of snow. With that being said, it shouldn’t come as a surprise to tell you that the majority of the businesses and ALL of the school systems in the snow laden area were closed today. I know that will be comical to those that live in Northern states–having in excess of several feet of snow on the ground as I type this.

When I went to bed last night, I had my doubts that I would wake to snow on the ground. I slept pretty sound, waking up only once at 2:20 a.m. Like Jaxon when he is looking for us to come home, I ran to the window to see if there was snow on the ground. No snow! Richard woke up at 4:00 a.m. and found the same thing; no snow.

Around 7:00 a.m. I rolled over and could see through the open blinds that snow was falling from the sky. I woke Richard to tell him and I guess he didn’t quite believe me because he had to go look for himself. “Yep, you’re right, it is snowing!” I had planned on staying in bed until around 8:00 a.m. so the snow could accumulate on the ground. By the time I was awake and moving around, the front and back yard were white.

The back yard transformed into a blanket of white.

I started doing some work on my laptop and watched through the sliding glass door as the back yard and deck slowly transform into a fluffy blanket of white. We made plans to go out right after lunch to ride the four wheeler over the property and take a few pictures.

It was 31 degrees when we headed out the door but it did not feel like it was that cold. We took some pictures of the entrance to the lodge and of the lodge.

The entrance to the lodge in Snow

Beautiful in snow.

As we were riding around the snow started coming down heavier and good photos were hard to take; the pictures were reflecting a gray sky and haze over the subject due to the falling snow. We decided to come home and try getting some photos tomorrow.

Richard at Buckhorn Creek Lodge

On the porch swing at Buckhorn Creek Lodge

It in now 6:30 p.m. and the snow has quit falling and we are pretty sure that we will not get anymore. I am supposed to go visit my mother in Florida this weekend but we are worried about the roads being iced over in the morning with the lows expected in the 20s overnight. I will have to wait and see what Mother Nature and Jack Frost have in store for Alabama.

I did enjoy the snow today and watching it come down and transform my world…but I don’t think I could take months on end of it; even if I had “snow sense”. Hang in there all my Northerner friends and those that are frozen in.

Oh, I didn’t build a snowman…but I did attempt a SNOW ANGEL…and I failed miserably!!

My miserable attempt at a snow angel...LOL!!

