Last month I ran across an announcement about an essay contest that Taho Films, LTD is hosting. The rules required a 500 word essay as to why the writer felt she was a hardcore woman hunter. The prizes for the first place winner is in excess of $40,000.00. When I first ran across the announcement I thought in the back of my head “there are many “real” hardcore women hunters out there and I was not sure that I fit in that classification”.

After pondering on the thought for several weeks and reading about it on several forums, I rethought my initial feelings. I figured the hours spent in the field on the hunt last season, as well as the experiences that I gained on my Wyoming whitetail deer and antelope hunt and my Montana turkey hunt was definitely in the ballpark of hardcore.

So I started my rough draft two weeks ago and tweaked it some over the last week until I felt that it expressed exactly what I wanted it to convey. I submitted my final draft along with two photos tonight and said a little prayer as I pressed the send button. Shortly thereafter, I received a confirmation that it was indeed received. Wish me luck. 🙂

For those women hunters reading along on my blog, you should check out the Tahoe Films, LTD website and enter the contest. Good luck to those that enter the contest.

http://www.tahoefilms.com/huntress_contest.php