What to do…oh, what to do!! Now that there is nothing to hunt or no trips to travel on, I feel a little lost. Is this the norm? I have to ask myself! Oh, don’t get me wrong, I have plenty to do. Like all the things that were neglected around my house during “hunting season” and those things that I keep telling myself I would do, when I have time.

I did shoot in a 3-D trail shoot this past weekend. I shot my usual average score, not bad but definitely room for improvement. At least I haven’t slipped any. The most memorable thing about this past weekend are the “CHIGGERS” that I brought home with me; nine of those pesky, itchy creatures. I have spent the last two nights in misery with a bottle of fingernail polish and anti-itch gel by my bedside. A good dose of one or the other gives me about 2 hours of sleep.

It was these chiggers that woke me up at 3:10 a.m. this morning. I stepped into the master bathroom to sit on the edge of the tub to reapply a fresh coat of polish to the bites on my ankles and gel to the surrounding areas. I noticed a sound that was similar to a fan humming. Hmmm?? What in the world is that?, I asked myself. I walked to the window and saw nothing unusual outside…or I should say I saw nothing at all. I figured that it must just be a chicken truck at the stop sign just up the road and I was hearing the motor run.

Unbeknownst to me, was I ever wrong with that summons!! I discredited the sound and slid back under the covers, temporarily in relief from the fresh coat of nail polish that spotted my angles and calves in nickel sized red rings and the anti-itch gel that I slathered on like shaving cream before rubbing in.

It was 5:00 a.m. when the first alarm went off…however, I was already sitting on the side of the bed clawing at my ankles and calves! Chiggers are worse than Chinese torture; there is no way to sit there and take it. I walked into the master bathroom to start my morning shower. There it is again…I hear it again!! What is that annoying swishing sound. I walk to the door and woke my husband up with the question, “Do you hear that?” with the usual response but in a much more lazily sounding way, “What does it sound like?” I said like a fan running and that I heard it at 3:10 a.m. when I got up. He told me that I better go look around as he rolled over to go back to sleep.

I guess I better. Maybe the cat has walked across the remote and the den television is on and off station. I walk toward the other end of the house, across the kitchen floor and the sound was getting louder. I step into the den; it is much louder now. What can that be. I walked around the love seat and toward the short hall when that very next footstep told the story without a second guess. WE HAVE SPRUNG A LEAK!! Holy cow, the carpet is sopping wet.

I yell out to my husband-urgently and quite loud! Hurry, hurry, Oh Lord, hurry up. He jumps out of bed, yelling “What is it?” I yell back, “I don’t know, it is flooded in here” He was right behind me in a flash!! I opened the spare bathroom door and a blast of humidity filled air with a hint of chlorine hit me in the face as I watched a ripple flow across the 3/4” of water in the floor. Oh no, no, no, this cannot be happening!!

The floor was covered in about 3/4 inches of water from base board to base  board of the entire four corners. And to make it even worse, the vent in the floor was COMPLETELY filled to the brim with water. The hose coming from the floor to the reservoir tank was spewing out water like a high powered spray nozzle. Oh, this can’t be happening I thought to myself but my soaking wet feet told no lie. Richard pushed pass me as everything else froze in time and I faintly remember him leaning down and turning the water off quickly.

My first chore was to mop up the bathroom floor. Then to call Stanley Steemer for water extraction. It was still too early for anyone to be open. My husband went outside and looked under the house and found his worst fear; sagging, dripping insulation and the ventilation HVAC pipes were filled with water. The main draw pipe was no longer attached to the intake flute, the weight of the water pulled it completely off.

After an entire morning of scrambling, calling the insurance company, scheduling with the insurance inspector/adjuster, going through the yellow pages trying to find an air conditioning company that could come at a drop of a hat, moving furniture and everything from two bedrooms and taking photos…. we were able to sit for a moment. No air conditioning but two high power blower fans and two dehumidifiers were humming loudly in the background making the sounds in the den inaudible. 

I am a true believer that all things happen for a reason. For this too, there is a reason. I believe I have put my Spring cleaning off way too long. As I sit and look at the clutter that lay around me from where we quickly pulled it from the two water drenched bedrooms, I wonder what in the world I would ever need with all of this stuff: typewriters, fax machine, huge 3 tray printer, a desk top computer that has not been turned on in two years…. sheesh…..what do I even need the desk it is all sitting on for? Now, yes now is the perfect time for me to do that Spring cleaning. Of course, that will begin after the air conditioning duct work gets repaired and the air conditioning is back on and running. 

© Nancy Jo Adams 2009

